• EN
  • Krantz VIRUSPROTECT

    The mobile aerosol filter

    Children need protected spaces to play, learn, and develop their interests and identities. In times of Corona, vaccinated adults – parents, teachers, and many others – provide such protection for all those children and adolescents for whom no vaccine is available or for whom only a limited vaccination recommendation can be made.

    With the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT, the classroom becomes a shelter for schoolchildren in a more literal sense. This is made possible by the effective combination of properties that have been formulated into a unique concept by the developers at the clean air specialist Krantz:

    Exemplary corona filter with double outlet
    for an extra-large, comfortable clean air zone

    Patented, antiviral filter coating
    for maximum safety and ease of handling

    Exemplary corona filter with double outletBig rooms need big filters. This is the only way to create a safe and expansive clean air zone and to take in that flat area of stale air near the floor. The developers at Krantz have further perfected the safety and convenience of the clean air cylinder through the use of a unique double outlet. The far-reaching outlet on the front of the device quietly ensures an imperceptible, even flow of air with excellent air distribution throughout the classroom. The radial outlet on the top of the device protects the cylinder of clean air from ceilings and walls.

    Antiviral coated filter technology for maximum air purity:  In the fight against Corona, the ever-reliable H14 filter elements, with rates of purification up to 99.995%, have proven themselves many times. They also serve as the main filter in the Krantz Virusprotect. Their high performance is further increased by a patented antiviral coating. Stable and completely emissions-free, it covers the filter fabric and the inside walls of the housing. Corona viruses are passively neutralized – when they try to penetrate the nanostructures of the antiviral coating, they destroy their own protein capsule.

    All-around safety for everyday life in schools and during maintenance: The Krantz Virusprotect is designed for permanent use for the often-turbulent everyday life in schools. Four power levels can be selected at will even when the control unit is locked and can thus be adjusted for quieter or livelier lessons. The built-in CO2 warning helps to optimize any additional ventilation intervals for exchanging stale and fresh air.

    Above all, the passive antivirus coating of the filter system is suitable for everyday life at school. It prevents the concentration of infectious virus particles inside the filter chamber. Maintenance and filter changes can thus easily be carried out without special protective clothing. Even if it is not opened properly, there is never any risk of infection. This passive protection against viruses avoids the disadvantages of alternative sterilization techniques, such as the risks inherent to UV-C light sources or the increased energy requirements of thermal processes.

    • Why is Krantz particularly qualified to develop high-performance coronavirus filters?

      As a specialist in functional air systems, Krantz develops and produces products and systems for healthy indoor climates, makes sensitive clean rooms safe, offers protection when handling contaminated substances in laboratories, and cleans industrial emissions in an environmentally friendly way. In our in-house laboratory, research and development on all things air-related is carried out in our 1000 m2 test facility using all the latest technologies. Krantz is the market leader in filter technology for laboratories and air duct systems that require stringent safety. Institutions such as the Robert Koch Institute, the Friedrich Loeffler Institute and the Bernhard Nocht Institute number among its clients. Krantz is even certified to equip BSL-4 laboratories for the analysis of highly pathogenic, zoonotic viruses.

    • When should the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT Corona filter be used?

      Krantz VIRUSPROTECT corona filters generate a comfortable, imperceptible flow of air and are quiet and economical in terms of energy consumption. They can be used steadily, and by all means, they should be switched on if several people are in a room and need to be protected.

    • How quickly does Krantz VIRUSPROTECT clean the air in a classroom?

      Krantz VIRUSPROTECT quickly reduces even high aerosol concentrations. After around 30 minutes of operation, the number of aerosols in a test room loaded with particles is less than 10% of the initially measured starting value. As far as we know today, those residual aerosols can no longer trigger an indirect infection..

    • Does the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT only filter corona viruses?

      The Krantz VIRUSPROTECT is a universal aerosol filter and thus an investment with long-term appeal. It also protects against infections in flu season and against hay fever in spring. Krantz VIRUSPROTECT reliably and safely filters viruses (e.g., corona and flu viruses), bacteria, spores, allergens, hospital germs, and other microorganisms with a rate of up to 99.995%.

    • How big is the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT?

      The mobile filter is 1.83 m high, 68 cm wide, and 70 cm deep. It weighs 140 kg. Equipped with four rubberized smooth-running caster wheels, it can be used in different locations without issue.

    • Quiet, powerful, energy-saving – how are the power levels used?

      The Krantz VIRUSPROTECT has four power levels that can be selected at any time via the control panel, even if all other functions of the control panel have been blocked for safety in everyday operation. The performance levels are selected according to the size of the room, the number of students, and activity levels within the classroom. In more lively teaching situations, a higher power level may be appropriate. For calm, focused work, a lower power level is often sufficient.

      Our guide values provide a guideline for the selection of the appropriate power level:

      Power level

      Purification volume (m³ air / h)

      Noise emission (dB/A)

      Quantity of persons or size

      1st level

      250

      30

      up to 8 persons  or 30 m2

      2nd level

      500

      36

      up to 16 persons or 60 m2

      3rd level

      750

      42

      up to 24 persons or 90 m2

      4th level

      1000

      48

      up to 32 persons or 100 m2

       

    • How high are the energy costs?

      With a medium classroom size, 25 students, and usage of up to 10 hours, the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT filters all of the air within the room three to four times per hour. If you calculate with a room usage of 5 working days and electricity costs of 28 cents / KWh, the total annual costs are around 50 euros.

    • What advantages does the passive antiviral coating have over active sterilization processes?

      Corona viruses are aggressive when transmitted from person to person. Outside of the body, they are less resilient than initially assumed. This is why cheaper corona filters rely solely on the separation abilities of their filter elements. Such filters are not sufficient for safe continuous use or the protection of larger groups of people. The sterilization of the filter media is essential for such areas of application.

      Active sterilization methods are thus often used. The sterilization of filters using UV-C light, in addition to the disadvantages associated with additional energy consumption, carries the risk of exposing users within the rooms to UV-C rays, especially in everyday life at school. Heat sterilization does not pose any immediate dangers. However, it also requires additional energy and is a further burden on indoor climates on warmer days. Passive sterilization using the patented antiviral coating of the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT avoids these disadvantages.

       

    • How safe is the antiviral coating of the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT filter unit?

      The antiviral coating of the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT filter system consists of cross-linked polyvinylamine (PVam), a widely used, well-researched polymer with a wide range of applications. It is used in personal care products, water treatment, papermaking, and many other areas. With the Krantz VIRUSPROTECT, it forms a thin, emission- and abrasion-free layer around the fibers of the filter media and on the inner walls of the filter housing.

      Viruses, bacteria, and other microorganisms are passively inactivated. They destroy their outer envelope when they try to penetrate the nanostructures of the coating. With no energy or ozone risk, the inner housing and filter media remain contamination-free, safe for daily use, and accessible at all times, e.g. for opening during device maintenance.

• DE
  • Krantz VIRUSPROTECT

    Große Klasse für große Räume
    Der mobile Corona-Filter

    Kinder brauchen geschützte Räume zum Spielen, Lernen und zur Entfaltung ihrer Persönlichkeit. In Zeiten von Corona bieten geimpfte Erwachsene - Eltern, Lehrer und viele weitere - einen Schutzraum für alle Kinder und Jugendliche, für die kein Impfstoff zur Verfügung steht oder nur eine eingeschränkte Impfempfehlung ausgesprochen werden kann.

    Mit dem Krantz VIRUSPROTECT wird der Klassenraum ein Schutzraum für Schülerinnen und Schüler ganz im wörtlichen Sinn. Möglich wird das durch die wirksame Kombination von Eigenschaften, die von den Entwicklern des Reinluft-Spezialisten Krantz in einem einzigartigen Konzept zusammengefasst wurden:

    Corona-Hochfilter mit Doppelauslass
    für eine extragroße, komfortable Reinluftzone

    Patentierte, antivirale Filterbeschichtung
    für höchste Sicherheit und einfachstes Handling

    Corona-Hochfilter mit Doppelauslass: Große Räume brauchen große Filter. Nur so kann eine sichere hohe Reinluftzone entstehen und ein flacher Gebrauchsluftbereich bodennah angesaugt werden. Die Krantz Entwickler haben Sicherheit und Komfort der Reinluftwalze außerdem durch den einzigartigen Doppelauslass perfektioniert. Leise sorgt der Weitwurfauslass an der Gerätefront für einen unmerklichen gleichmäßigen Luftstrom mit hervorragender Luftverteilung im gesamten Klassenraum. Der Radialauslass an der Geräteoberseite sichert die Reinluftwalze an Decken und Wänden ab.

    Antiviral beschichtete Filtertechnik für höchste Luftreinheit: Im Kampf gegen Corona haben sich die zuverlässigen H14‑Filterelemente mit besten Reinigungsquoten von bis zu 99,995% vielfach bewährt. Auch im Krantz Virusprotect dienen sie als Hauptfilter. Ihre hohe Leistung wird durch eine patentierte antivirale Beschichtung zusätzlich gesteigert. Stabil und völlig emissionsfrei überzieht sie Filtergewebe und Gehäuse-Innenwände. Corona-Viren werden passiv neutralisiert - beim Versuch in die Nanostrukturen der antiviralen Beschichtung einzudringen, zerstören sie die eigene Proteinkapsel.

    Rundum-Sicherheit im Schulalltag und bei der Wartung: Der Krantz Virusprotect ist für den dauerhaften Einsatz im oftmals turbulenten Schulalltag konzipiert. Vier Leistungsstufen sind auch bei gesperrter Steuereinheit frei wählbar und können an ruhige und lebhaftere Unterrichtsstunden angepasst werden. Der eingebaute CO2-Warner hilft, die ergänzenden Lüftungsintervalle zum Austausch von verbrauchter und frischer Luft zu optimieren.

    Vor allem die passive Antivirus-Beschichtung des Filtersystem wird dem Schulalltag gerecht. Sie verhindert infektiöse Virenkonzentrationen in der Filterkammer. Wartung und Filterwechsel sind problemlos ohne besondere Schutzbekleidung möglich. Selbst bei unsachgemäßer Öffnung besteht kein Infektionsrisiko. Der passive Virenschutz vermeidet die Nachteile alternativer Sterilisationstechniken, wie die Risiken von UV-C Lichtquellen und den erhöhten Energiebedarf thermischer Verfahren.

    • Warum ist Krantz besonders qualifiziert für die Entwicklung leistungsfähiger Corona-Filter?

      Als Spezialist für funktionale Luft-Systeme entwickelt und produziert Krantz Produkte und Anlagen für gesundes Raumklima, sichert sensible Reinräume, schützt beim Umgang mit kontaminierten Stoffen in Laboren und reinigt umweltgerecht industrielle Emissionen. Im hauseigenen Forschungslabor wird auf einer Fläche von 1000 m2 mit modernster Technik rund um das Thema Luft geforscht und entwickelt. Krantz ist marktführend in der Filtertechnik von Hochsicherheitslaboren und Luftführungssystemen. Beliefert wurden unter anderem Institutionen wie die Robert-Koch-Institute, das Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut und das Bernhard-Nocht-Institut. Krantz ist zertifiziert für die Ausstattung von BSL-4 Laboren zur Analyse hochpathogener, zoonotischer Viren.

    • Wann soll der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT Corona-Filter verwendet werden?

      Krantz VIRUSPROTECT Corona-Filter erzeugen einen komfortablen, unmerklichen Luftstrom, sind leise und sparsam im Energieverbrauch. Sie können dauerhaft eingesetzt werden. Auf jeden Fall
      sollten sie eingeschaltet werden, wenn sich mehrere Personen in einem Raum befinden und geschützt werden sollen.

    • Wie schnell reinigt Krantz VIRUSPROTECT die Luft im Klassenraum?

      Krantz VIRUSPROTECT verringert schnell auch hohe Aerosolkonzentrationen. Nach rund 30 Min Betriebszeit ist die Anzahl der Aerosole in in einem mit Partikeln beladenen Versuchsraum kleiner als 10 % zum anfänglich gemessenen Startwert. Nach heutigem Kenntnisstand können die Rest-Aerosole keine indirekte Infektion mehr auslösen.

    • Filtert der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT nur Corona-Viren?

      Der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT ist ein universeller Aerosolfilter und eine nachhaltige Investition. Er schützt auch vor Infektionen in Grippeperioden und vor Heuschnupfen im Frühjahr. Krantz VIRUSPROTECT filtert mit einer Quote von bis zu 99,995% zuverlässig und sicher Viren (z.B. Corona- und Grippeviren),  Bakterien, Sporen, Allergene, Krankenhauskeime und andere Mikroorganismen.

    • Wie groß ist der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT?

      Der mobile Filter ist 1,83 m hoch, 68 cm breit und 70 cm tief. Er wiegt 140 kg. Ausgestattet mit vier gummierten Leichtlaufrollen lässt er sich problemlos an verschiedenen Standorten einsetzen.

    • Leise, leistungsstark, energiesparend - wie werden die Leistungsstufen genutzt?

      Der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT hat 4 Leistungstufen, die jederzeit über das Bedienfeld angewählt werden können. Selbst dann, wenn zur Sicherheit im Alltagsgebetrieb allen weiteren Funktionen des Bedienfelds gesperrt wurden. Die Leistungsstufen werden passend zur Raumgröße, Schülerzahl und Aktivität im Klassenraum gewählt. In lebhaften Unterrichtssituationen kann eine höhere Leistungsstufe angemessen sein. Bei konzentrierter, ruhiger Arbeit genügt oft eine niedrigere Leistungsstufe.

      Eine Orientierung zur Wahl der Leistungsstufen geben unsere Richtwerte:

      Leistungsstufe

      Reinigungsvolumen (m³ Luft / Std.)

      Geräuschentwicklung (dB/A)

      Raumgröße oder Personenzahl

      1. Stufe

      250

      30

      bis 8 Personen oder 30 m2

      2. Stufe

      500

      36

      bis 16 Personen oder 60 m2

      3. Stufe

      750

      42

      bis 24 Personen oder 90 m2

      4. Stufe

      1000

      48

      bis 32 Personen oder 100 m2

       

    • Wie hoch sind die Energiekosten?

      Bei einer mittleren Klassenraumgröße, 25 Schülerinnen und Schülern und einer Nutzung von bis zu 10 Stunden filtert der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT pro Stunde drei- bis viermal die gesamte Raumluft. Rechnet man mit einer Raumnutzung von 5 Arbeitstagen und Stromkosten von 28 Cent/KWh betragen die jährlichen Gesamtkosten rund 50 EURO.

    • Welche Vorteile hat die passive antivirale Beschichtung vor aktiven Sterilisationsverfahren?

      Corona-Viren sind aggressiv bei der Übertragung von Mensch zu Mensch. Außerhalb des Körpers sind sie weniger widerstandsfähig als zunächst angenommen. Deshalb verlassen sich preisgünstige Corona-Filter auf die reine Separierungsleistung ihrer Filterelemente. Für einen sicheren Dauereinsatz und den Schutz größerer Personengruppen genügen solche Filter nicht. Die Sterilisation der Filtermedien sind für diese Anwendungsgebiete unerlässlich.

      Oftmals werden aktive Sterilisationsmethoden eingesetzt. Die Filtersterilisation über UV-C Licht birgt, neben dem Nachteil des zusätzlichen Energieaufwands, gerade im Schulalltag das Risiko einer Belastung von Nutzern der Räume mit UV-C Strahlen. Von der Wärmesterilisation gehen keine unmittelbaren Gefahren aus. Sie benötigt aber auch zusätzliche Energie und ist an wärmeren Tagen eine weitere Belastung des Raumklimas. Die passive Sterilisation durch die patentierte antivirale Beschichtung des Krantz VIRUSPROTECT vermeidet diese Nachteile.

       

    • Wie sicher ist die antivirale Beschichtung der Krantz VIRUSPROTECT Filtereinheit?

      Die antivirale Beschichtung des Krantz VIRUSPROTECT-Filtersystems besteht aus vernetztem Polyvenylamin (PVam), einem verbreitetem gut erforschtem Polymer mit weitem Anwendungsspektrum. Es wird bei Körperpflegeprodukten, der Wasseraufbereitung, Papierherstellung und in vielen weiteren Bereichen eingesetzt. Beim Krantz VIRUSPROTECT bildet es eine dünne emissions- und abriebfreie Schicht um die Faser der Filtermedien und auf den Innenwänden des Filtergehäuses.

      Viren, Bakterien und andere Mikroorganismen werden passiv inaktiviert. Sie zerstören ihre äußere Hülle beim Versuch in die Nanostrukturen der Beschichtung einzudringen. Ganz ohne Energie und Ozonrisiko bleiben so Innengehäuse und Filtermedien kontaminationsfrei, sicher im täglichen Gebrauch und jederzeit zugänglich, z.B. für die Öffnung zur Gerätewartung.